A spot of baking…

So I came home today from work with a burning desire to do some baking. After much deliberating about flavours, recipes, toppings I narrowed my efforts to a batch of zesty lemon cupcakes, a firm favourite in my household, and an experimental but easy batch of chocolate orange “fridge cake”.

The cupcakes are so simple that I’ve got the whole baking and decorating process down to less than an hour (taking into account finding bakeware hidden at the back of cupboards, cats trying to trip me up by winding between my legs, and my desperate need for a new sieve!) which makes them a very quick and cheaper way to quench those sweet toothed cravings instead of heading to the supermarket for some processed substitutes.

Fridge cake is a childhood classic of mine, we used to make it just after Christmas to use up all the leftover biscuits brought round by well-meaning neighbours and relatives and any chocolate left from our selection boxes (it’s a perfect use for those below par milk chocolate treats which are inedible in their usual form!). I’m sure many people will have their own versions as variations of “Rocky Road” and know it by many other names but generally my versions include crushed biscuits, chocolate of any variety (in my case I tried using plain chocolate with orange pieces today), raisins, marshmallows and I suppose if you were so inclined you could add all sorts of other treats (nuts, cherries, honeycomb etc). This is all then just mixed together, stuffed into a tin and left to cool in the fridge, it doesn’t get easier than that and the beauty of it is there are no proportions or method to worry about!

Yes, my presentation needs some work (but quite frankly I’m lucky that I’m not under the pressure to sell these in a shop) however to me they are just about taste, reward of some enjoyable baking efforts and doing something creative after being stuck behind a desk all day long 🙂

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on A spot of baking….

Comments are closed.

