Bloomin’ Marvellous!

I wouldn’t describe myself as a brilliant gardener, I rarely follow the guidance on plants when I buy them, care about sun positions or soil types and my garden is definitely an experiment in survival of the fittest; I plant and whatever can handle the cats, snow, frost or shade thrives. That’s not to say I haven’t put in many hours outside de-weeding (I really HATE de-weeding), pruning and generally trying to create a garden worth spending time in. When my husband and I bought our house 4 years ago the garden was, well it was a wreck, don’t believe me here’s the proof!

Despite the wreckage, a fence panel shortage crisis and many shrubs and flowers which died the garden is finally starting to thrive.

Having originally tried to limit the garden to white, purple and blue flowers only we scrapped this last year as certain types like Nemesias or Salvias were just not happy year on year and were only lasting for one season so instead we have now opted for a more country garden feel where any colour is welcome. It’s not quite there yet, the grass needs some work and some of the newer plants still need to become established but thanks to the recent good weather I wanted to share how pretty and relaxing it has been these last few weeks, a real haven to come home to at the end of the day. The cats have also been making the most of their own slice of jungle adventure, Flapjack is especially likely to be found curled up beneath my Ceanothus on sunny days! Now all I need is a friendly hedgehog to come and make his home here 🙂

Posted on May 22, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey JANE!!!! Your blog is ‘bloomin’ marvelous!’ It’s so nice to see what you’re up to these days. And the garden looks so lovely, i’m jelly. haha. Am I right in thinking you have 3 cats now? I’m confused. I’m moving into a new place but it’s in central london. It’s a flat but I want to get a couple of my own cats. I’m gonna go to a shelter and see which two decide they like me enough to come home with me! 🙂 xx rania.

    • RANIA!!!!! Text me your new address, we need to arrange catch up drinks 🙂 Still just the two cats but have a couple of neighbourhood ones which like to visit frequently! xx

